News Room

Recent News
News Releases - 2021

Gen. Stephen R. Lyons retires after 38-year career

Release #: 20211018-1 Monday, October 18, 2021 SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, Ill. (Oct. 15, 2021) -- Army Gen. Stephen R. Lyons, the 13th commander of U.S. Transportation Command (USTRANSCOM), retired today following a change of command ceremony with Air Force Gen. Jacqueline D. Van Ovost. Lyons retired following a 38-year career and was the first Army general to lead USTRANSCOM, taking charge of the global combatant command on Aug. 24, 2018. …

Van Ovost becomes 14th commander of U.S. Transportation Command

Release #: 20211015-1 Friday, October 15, 2021 SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, Ill. (Oct. 15, 2021) -- U.S. Air Force Gen. Jacqueline D. Van Ovost took command of U.S. Transportation Command (USTRANSCOM) in a ceremony here today, becoming the first female officer to lead the global combatant command.  Van Ovost succeeds Gen. Stephen R. Lyons, the first Army officer to lead USTRANSCOM. Lyons retired today after 38 years of …

USTRANSCOM patient movement teams save lives during historic NEO

Release #: 20211001-1 Friday, October 01, 2021 SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, Ill. (Oct. 1, 2021) – Thirty-two injured U.S. service members and Afghan civilians were aeromedically evacuated from Hamid Karzai International Airport (HKIA) in Kabul, Afghanistan, following an Aug. 26 bombing there. The attack occurred during the largest noncombatant evacuation operation (NEO) airlift in history, which moved approximately 124,000 persons to safe …

USTRANSCOM commander recognizes contingency response Airmen

Release #: 20210927-1 Monday, September 27, 2021 SCOTT AIR FORCE BASE, Ill. (Sept. 27, 2021) –The Commander of U.S. Transportation Command (USTRANSCOM) met with airmen that played a critical role in the recent, historic mission to evacuate Americans and cleared Afghans and foreign nationals out of Afghanistan. At Travis Air Force Base, California on Sept. 23, U.S. Army Gen. Stephen R. Lyons, USTRANSCOM commander, highlighted the …

Maj. Gen. Corey Martin Remembers 9-11

Release #: 20210910-1 Friday, September 10, 2021

USTRANSCOM supports evacuation of 124K people in historic airlift

Release #: 20210902-1 Thursday, September 02, 2021

‘Baby on board’ – Aircrew deliver Afghan baby on evacuation flight

Release #: 20210831-1 Tuesday, August 31, 2021

Gen. Stephen R. Lyons, Commander of U.S. Transportation Command, and Pentagon Press Secretary John F. Kirby Press Briefing (transcript)

Release #: 20210825-1 Wednesday, August 25, 2021

Fast-Paced Airport Ground Ops Keeps Evacuees Moving

Release #: 20210824-1 Tuesday, August 24, 2021

Department of Defense Activates Civil Reserve Air Fleet to Assist With Afghanistan Efforts

Release #: 20210901-1 Sunday, August 22, 2021

Milestone marks U.S. Transportation Command joint reserve unit change of command

Release #: 20210712-1 Monday, July 12, 2021

Statement on completion of Mobility Capability Requirements Study 2020

Release #: 20210630-1 Wednesday, June 30, 2021

Multifaceted team strives to modernize air refueling management

Release #: 20210629-1 Tuesday, June 29, 2021

Command and Control Capability Demonstrated on KC-135

Release #: 20210625-1 Friday, June 25, 2021

Reserve unit commander for U.S. Transportation Command promoted to major general

Release #: 20210614-1 Monday, June 14, 2021

Rocket cargo delivery gets big boost

Release #: 20210607-1 Monday, June 07, 2021

Lyons witnesses KC-135 -hot-pit refueling – “significant innovation for warfighting readiness”

Release #: 20210524-1 Monday, May 24, 2021

Lyons recognizes Duckworth, Courtney and Wittman among the first to receive the inaugural Pegasus Award

Release #: 20210521-1 Friday, May 21, 2021

USTRANSCOM conducts critical ship-to-shore exercise in Balkans during Defender-Europe 21

Release #: 20210514-1 Friday, May 14, 2021

A lot of heart: four purple ones, to be exact; Sgt. 1st Class Clark reflects upon retirement

Release #: 20210507-1 Friday, May 07, 2021

USTRANSCOM exercises aeromedical teams and global patient movement

Release #: 20210429-1 Thursday, April 29, 2021

C-5M Super Galaxy departs Travis with U.S. government assistance to India

Release #: 20210428-1 Wednesday, April 28, 2021

‘Meet the Fleet,’ USTRANSCOM’s Senior Enlisted Leader wants to meet you

Release #: 20210423-1 Friday, April 23, 2021

TRANSCOM Commander visits Expeditionary Center Headquarters

Release #: 20210408-1 Thursday, April 08, 2021

USTRANSCOM SEL hangs up the Air Force uniform, begins next chapter—retirement

Release #: 20210401-1 Thursday, April 01, 2021

USTRANSCOM welcomes its first-ever U.S. Navy senior enlisted leader

Release #: 20210330-1 Tuesday, March 30, 2021

J2 airmen excel in consecutive Airman Leadership School classes

Release #: 20210330-2 Tuesday, March 30, 2021

USTRANSCOM airlift acquisition expert recognized for inspiring excellence

Release #: 20210329-1 Monday, March 29, 2021

U.S. Transportation Command recognizes Annual Award winners

Release #: 20210319-1 Friday, March 19, 2021

USTRANSCOM Commander and top business execs discuss logistics’ role in National Security

Release #: 20210318-1 Thursday, March 18, 2021

USTRANSCOM’s J6 talks data, digital modernization and diversity at cyber symposium

Release #: 20210312-1 Friday, March 12, 2021

USTRANSCOM chief of staff shares career journey, advice for women during podcast

Release #: 20210304-1 Thursday, March 04, 2021

Defense Personal Property Program director shares customer focused perspective at NDTA GovTravels conference

Release #: 20210226-1 Friday, February 26, 2021

‘Semper Supra / Always Above’ -- USTRANSCOM airmen become Space Force Guardians

Release #: 20210222-1 Monday, February 22, 2021

Congratulations USTRANSCOM 2020 4th Quarter Awards Program winners

Release #: 20210222-1 Monday, February 22, 2021

“A fight to get to the fight”: Admiral instructs sealift officers on strategic importance of operational logistics

Release #: 20210219-1 Friday, February 19, 2021

Tabletop exercise refines Voluntary Intermodal Sealift Agreement activation process

Release #: 20210216-1 Tuesday, February 16, 2021

Organizational fitness through critical thinking

Release #: 20210212-1 Friday, February 12, 2021

Husband, wife complete master’s degrees together using Chapter 33 from VA

Release #: 20210208-1 Monday, February 08, 2021

Navy League honors USTRANSCOM Sailor for leadership, mentoring during pandemic

Release #: 20210126-1 Tuesday, January 26, 2021

Commemorating 30th anniversary of Operation Desert Storm

Release #: 20210115-1 Friday, January 15, 2021

Transporter receives Executive MBA with honors, applies it to logistics career

Release #: 20210114-1 Thursday, January 14, 2021

Harnessing the power of data for the Joint Force: USTRANSCOM establishes an enterprise data and analytics environment

Release #: 20210113-1 Wednesday, January 13, 2021

USTRANSCOM leaders receive COVID-19 vaccine

Release #: 20210110-1 Sunday, January 10, 2021
News Archive

Follow Us On:

Facebook     Twitter     LinkedIn


Connect to USTRANSCOM JECC JTRU AMC MSC SDDC
Office of Public Affairs|United States Transportation Command|Scott Air Force Base IL 62225-5357
This is a Department of Defense (DOD) computer system. Please read our Privacy, Accessibility, Use and Non-Endorsement Disclaimer Notice.